BIS Scheme

The BIS certification process has been practiced for more than 30 years in India. However, the standardization of BIS certification was not in place until the implementation of the Compulsory Registration Scheme (CRS) in 2013, forwarded by the Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology (MeitY) (

Product certification includes two schemes: Scheme 1 – Indian Standards Institution (ISI) and Scheme 2 – Compulsory Registration Scheme (CRS).

Scheme 1 which is also known as Indian Standards Institution (ISI) scheme is a Licensing Scheme. In this scheme factory audit is required. Scheme 1 applies to a wide variety of Electronics & IT products notified by MeitY including electrical household products, chemicals, Steel, glass, Cements, etc. It is a quality and safety assurance certification.

Scheme 2 which is also known as Compulsory registration scheme (CRS) is a self-conformity scheme. This means that factory audit is not required and it only applies to electronics and IT products. It is a safety certification for products coming to Indian market. Manufacturers of the products listed on Scheme 2 should apply for registration from Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS) after getting their product tested from BIS recognized labs. After registration, manufacturers are then allowed to put the Standard Mark on their products. The CRS is operated based on  BIS (Conformity Assessment) Regulations, 2018.

Summary of Scheme 1 and 2

Name Scheme 1 – ISI Scheme 2 – CRS
Type licensing Scheme Conformity Scheme
Product Wide range of products from chemicals to electrical products Only Electronics and IT Products
Factory Audit Required Not Required
Marking Fee Applicable No Fee required
Application Hardcopy submission Online
Number of products 344 Products 69 Products
ISI mark
CRS mark

Standard Mark for ISI

Standard Mark for CRS

Translate »