BIS Certification

Registration Title:

The Bureau of Indian Standards Act, 2016


The BIS of BIS Certification stands for Bureau of Indian Standards. The establishment of a national standards body in India is based on the Bureau of Indian Standards Act established in 2016.

The aims of the BIS Act include harmonious development of the activities of standardization, conformity assessment and quality assurance of goods, articles, processes, systems, and services. The responsible authority is the Bureau of Indian Standards (

BIS certification is required by every manufacturer (Indian or foreign) of those who are manufacturing products under Compulsory Certification. Product certification includes two schemes, that is, Product Certification includes two schemes: Scheme 1 – Indian Standards Institution (ISI) and Scheme 2 – Compulsory registration scheme (CRS). The list of products that requires BIS certification is constantly being extended.

For non-Indian manufacturers to comply with BIS certification, Authorized Indian Representative (AIR) can be appointed to assist the application process, including:

  1. Documentation and application submission
  2. Factory inspection by Indian auditor
  3. Provision of test samples by the AIR and execution of the tests
  4. Marking and labeling of products with the standard or ISI marks for BIS certification
Translate »